I love food. I mean, who doesn’t?

Sometimes you live in a city for so long that you neglect to pay attention to the fun activities around your area. For the longest time after graduating college, I was so hellbent on trying to leave North Carolina. I was in search for something new and fresh but I didn’t take notice to the hidden treasures that were just around the corner.

The hidden treasure here? The Raleigh Food Truck Rodeo!

I had been hearing great reviews about the Raleigh Food Truck Rodeo for quite some time now but hadn’t made the effort to go just yet. I obviously waited until the very last rodeo event of the year to pay a visit and I’m so glad I did.

The Raleigh Food Truck Rodeo is a food festival where local food trucks from across the state sign up to station themselves in the heart of downtown Raleigh and serve their delicacies. The rodeo happens four times throughout the year.

You’re probably thinking to yourself, what’s so special/new/different about a food festival? Well, to each his own. For me, I was introduced to so many new foods, beers and cultures. I apparently have an inclination for Korean Street Food. After watching my fair share of Korean shows and seeing what types of snacks they eat, I was excited to try some on my own! Also, who ever knew that you could stick an Oreo in between an ice cream sandwich of two ice cream flavors and two chocolate chip cookies? (Thank you, Ice Queen Parlor!)

For someone who was not in the mood for Indian food that day, this was pretty much like heaven. Don’t get me wrong. I love Indian food but like always, I was craving something different.

However, my sisters and I encountered a number of challenges when trying to determine what we should indulge on first. Three girls who were very hungry plus hundreds of available options was quite the combination. I don’t think I can count the number of food trucks we awkwardly stood in front of, questioning whether or not we wanted that food. Or the number of awkward stares at people walking passed you with delicious food in their hands and trying to figure out where they bought it from. Think of it as a large-scale scavenger hunt (Running Man, perhaps?).

Eventually, we took it one step at a time and found some really great options. I unfortunately forgot some of the names of what we ate but luckily I was that girl that took pictures of every food item we bought.

Bo's Kitchen - Korean Street Food!
Bo’s Kitchen – Korean Street Food! So. good.
American Meltdown - probably some of the best grilled cheese sandwiches I've had
American Meltdown – probably some of the best grilled cheese sandwiches I’ve ever had
Chirba Chirba's dumplings!
Chirba Chirba’s dumplings!
Amigosan!
Amigosan!
Have you ever seen an ice cream sandwich like this? Props to Ice Queen Parlor
Have you ever seen an ice cream sandwich like this? Props to Ice Queen Parlor.

I love to eat but I don’t know how to cook. Maybe I can attempt to make one of these in the near future? I’ll start with the ice cream sandwich. I know it’s probably really simple to make but knowing me, anything can go wrong…

It’s always a good feeling to do something that you said you would do. Now, on to more food festivals and other adventures!

Check out Raleigh Food Truck Rodeo’s website for information on next year’s event.

Leave a Reply

