Pinterest, eat your heart out

Thank you, Pinterest, for reminding me how incapable I am of completing a DIY project that looks exactly how it does on all of your boards: fresh, artsy and put-together.

Well, that’s what I thought until I actually tried a project of my own.

That’s right. I assumed something that I hadn’t necessarily tried (one of my biggest pet peeves: assumptions…oops).

I love Pinterest and I am definitely guilty of spending much of my time surfing through numerous boards and finding the coolest projects, from the most elaborate to the most simple. This week, I decided that I should actually try doing something that I found on Pinterest and because it’s Hallows’ Eve, pumpkin carving was the best option.

Of course, pumpkin carving is way before Pinterest’s time but I feel like Pinterest is constantly reminding me that I should be doing more festive activities for upcoming holidays. Am I the only one that feels that way?

Also, don’t underestimate pumpkin carving! It’s not as easy as it looks. Well, for me it isn’t. I can’t say I have a good drawing hand or that I’m the most artsy person. Remember, this is the girl that can easily have trouble making cake from a box. But, I must overcome these struggles and try something new!

I’ve seen most people use different stencils to create the most intricate pumpkin designs. I’ll be honest, I was also inspired to make an elaborate design on my pumpkin but I later realized that I should probably start with something on the simpler side. I’ll try a trickier design in the future (next year, perhaps?). So, I decided to go old-school. You know, the simple scary eyes, weird nose, and creepy smile?

When I first got this pumpkin, I stared at it for a good few minutes trying to determine where to even begin. How was I supposed turn this into something new? Also, it was just so…big (aaaand commence dirty jokes). In that time of feeling overwhelmed, I decided to name my pumpkin because all pumpkins should have names. Am I right or am I right?

Jack may have been a suitable name for any pumpkin but I really like the name Humphrey. I mean, just look at it!

2014-10-29 05.49.28
Yup, this is a total Humphrey.

Without really looking at any directions, I decided to just do it my own way. I picked up some kitchen knives and Humphrey started losing some weight.

2014-10-29 06.02.09
Disgustingly gooey but ridiculously fun. Also, please excuse my frizzy hair. NC weather at its best.
2014-10-29 06.19.02
It may look like I had no idea what I was doing but I think I was headed in the right direction…
2014-10-29 06.54.22
A few cuts and some candles later: voila!
2014-10-29 07.05.50
And then Humphrey couldn’t stop puking…

So, is this Pinterest worthy? Well, I’m not too sure about that but I know this won’t be the only DIY Pinterest project that I will be doing. There are definitely more to come and they won’t be this simple!

Pumpkin carving may not seem like something new and fresh to others but it was definitely new to me. Ok, so I have a vague memory of carving a pumpkin when I was younger but I’m still going to consider this my first time.

This was also my way of determining whether or not I can recreate something I found on Pinterest. In this case, I consider myself successful! It may not be the most perfect pumpkin but it’s definitely not a Pinterest fail.

If you have any ideas for what my ‘something new’ should be for next week, let me know! Hope everyone has a fun and safe Halloween!

Leave a Reply

