New Weekly Faves

Along with my weekly ‘something new,’ I will also be posting weekly favorites because…well, why not? Don’t you have those days when you hear a new song and replay that song a million times until you think you’ve gotten tired of it? Or if you buy a new piece of clothing or shoes and you want to continue wearing it because you love it so much?

Yeah, that’s me right now.


Steve Madden, y’all

2014-11-04 22.58.27
I have big feet, I know.

One of my sisters recently surprised me with a pair of new shoes that I fell in love with the moment I put them on. However, I did have my reservations about these shoes prior to getting them. I had always seen them while shopping but wasn’t sure if I could pull them off or if it was something that I would actually wear. Ugh again, with my assumptions.

But, I’m really glad I have them now because after putting them on, there was an immediate connection between the two of us. We really have great chemistry. I can pair these shoes with a number of different outfits this season. They’re perfect for fall, they’re extremely comfortable, and they were super cheap. That’s always a plus. Always try something before saying no to it!

Also, I came across a great fashion blog on Tumblr called Death by Elocution that actually featured some of their models with similar shoes. They have great fashion and photography ideas so be sure to check them out!


Welcome to…North Carolina

I’m almost positive Taylor Swift wrote ‘Welcome to New York’ to convince me to move to New York. Don’t worry, girl. I’ve been convinced for quite some time.

I can’t say this is my favorite song but I’m putting it down here because it’s been stuck in my head since I first heard it…which was just a few days ago.

I kept reading great reviews for 1989 and finally decided to listen to a few songs. Some of her new music on this album was different from the songs she usually releases so it was fun to hear something new. This song, in particular, has catchy lyrics that you can try to forget until you either find another song on her album to be addicted to or until you actually move to New York. I think if I keep listening to it, I’ll eventually open my eyes and find myself in New York. It’s definitely possible.

Also, I’m still jamming to ‘Shake it Off.’ That, my friend, is a fun song. And, in all seriousness, Swift is telling you to just be yourself because there is nothing more awesome than that.


Smoothies?

No, I’m not new to smoothies BUT they’re all the rage right now. Whether I’m surfing through Pinterest (duh) or reading another blog, I’ve noticed the numerous times people have said how beneficial certain smoothies have been to their lifestyle.

Here’s the thing. I have a major sweet tooth. Let’s put extra emphasis on major. What if I make it bold? Major. 

Yeah, desserts are kind of my thing but that doesn’t mean that I don’t enjoy eating healthy. I’m your average person that is seriously very curious about this whole smoothie thing so I thought I would give it a shot. This week, I made a breakfast smoothie with:

  • 1 banana
  • 1/3 cup oatmeal
  • chia seeds
  • 1 tsp. brown sugar
  • milk
  • yogurt

So. Good. Seriously, the things you can do with a Magic Bullet, or whatever variation I have of it, are quite impressive. And as you all know, I can’t cook so this was easy breezy.

I can’t say how healthy this smoothie is but I’m substituting it in place of sugary cereal and I’m pretty sure that’s a good thing. I love cereal and could probably eat it all day, every day so this smoothie option was definitely a good one.


I was told recently by one of my best friends (Hi, Savan) that there is no harm in saying ‘yes’ to more things and when he mentioned that to me, I immediately thought about Nazaaqat. In a way, it has the same idea. Saying ‘yes’ to new ideas, places, projects etc., whether big or small, can benefit you in so many ways. Even if something you agreed to had unexpected results, you still had the opportunity to learn from it.

Doing these weekly favorites is another way for me to say ‘yes’ to more things. Yeah, they are small but the fact that I’m actually trying them makes it a fun experience. Down the road, I may agree to things that may not have a positive outcome but that’s the whole point. I’m just trying to learn and understand something new about my surroundings or myself!

Ok, that’s enough of the serious talk. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go dance to ‘Shake it Off’ in my new shoes.

Leave a Reply

