K-pop and Kimchi: New Weekly Faves!

Yes, I listen to K-pop. 

And it’s pretty awesome.

This Friday, I’m headed to Newark, New Jersey to see 2PM in concert! If you don’t know 2PM, I suggest you look them up now.

2PM/ Via wooho2dakay.tumblr.com

Ok, that’s just one of their practices and it should still be incentive for you to look them up!

My sister, Shalu, was recently surprised (there are always surprises in my family) with two tickets to their concert for her birthday so the two of us will be road tripping to Jersey this weekend. Shalu knows anything and everything about the K-pop industry and when she found out she would be seeing 2PM live, she was almost in tears. I’ve been to my fair share of concerts, from Bollywood artists to various American singers. However, I’ve never seen a K-pop artist live, and never thought I would, so this should be a fun new experience!

Because I’m not well versed with 2PM’s music, I find it only necessary to dedicate this week to listening to them as much as possible. But along with listening to their music, I have had another song on repeat all. Week. Long. WINNER’s Mino released a solo in August called I’m Him and I can’t stop listening to it! I first heard this song almost a month ago but for some reason, I’ve been hooked to it just this week. Probably because Shalu keeps playing it but I don’t mind. Hence, its inclusion in my weekly new favorites!

tumblr_nb432hhDpX1tth6oko2_250
WINNER/ Via nokiu.tumblr.com

The song and music video complement each other so well. You have to see it for yourself to know what I’m talking about. From the graphics to the beat, this is definitely a must-have. Mino is just as much fun to watch as he is to listen to. Check out the video here!


FINALLY

I bought a fur vest. Obviously faux. But I bought one.

I’m not lying when I say this but I’ve been wanting a fur vest  for years. Since high school or before, I remember seeing fur vests in stores and boutiques and secretly wanting one for myself. However, similar to my Steve Madden shoes ordeal, I would see fur vests constantly whilst shopping but feared that I wouldn’t be able to pull it off. NO. Clothing always looks different on the rack versus when you try them on.

Well, all of that has changed now. On a recent shopping trip, my sister found a black fur vest and brought to my attention that it was time. I immediately said no because well, I just did. After giving it some more thought, I took it to the dressing room, tried it on, and felt another instant connection with this soft and comfortable piece of magic.

2014-11-10 23.20.592014-11-10 23.22.402014-11-10 23.22.32

I’m so happy and relieved I finally bought one because it is perfect for this season. I can easily pair it with almost anything. Jeans, dresses, sweaters, T-shirts, the Steve Madden shoes…anything. Ok, I haven’t had a chance to wear it just yet but that’s what the 2PM concert is for!


Kimchi Grilled Cheese!

Does this mean I can cook now? Well, no but it’s a good start.

I thought I was being innovative and creative when I thought to use kimchi in a grilled cheese sandwich but lo and behold Pinterest came in the way. After searching on the wonderful website that Pinterest is, I found out that kimchi grilled cheese is an actual thing. Womp womp. That didn’t stop me from making it!

If you haven’t tried it, you should try this now. For those of you that don’t know what kimchi is, it is spicy pickled cabbage that is used frequently in Korean cuisine. Kimchi + cheese = heaven.

2014-11-11 04.37.382014-11-11 04.41.02

I thought about making this a separate post about a new cooking adventure that I took on but I later remembered that grilled cheese sandwiches are on the simpler side of cooking. But, it’s definitely included in my weekly favorites because I just discovered this deliciousness and I can now think of a hundred other ways to make a good grilled cheese.


New K-pop  music, kimchi wonders and a fur vest? They may be small new favorites (and mostly Korean?) but they’re still so worth it. I love that I’m being more open and saying yes to so many new things. I’m also glad I can share all of my new adventures, big and small, with you!


Photographs by Nidhi Singh

 

One thought on “K-pop and Kimchi: New Weekly Faves!

Leave a Reply

