Dancing Lights

It was a cold, starry night in good ol’ North Carolina. Nidhi was curled up in a Christmas onesie with a box of tissues, sneezing and coughing the night away. What was she to do in such a fragile and sick state? She was bored out of her mind and yearned for an adventure.

And then, it hit her. Why not surf the Interwebs to uncover a fun DIY project she can conquer while under the influence of Tylenol Cold & Flu? She looked toward her phone and quickly hit the Pinterest app (let’s be real, where else was she going to look?). Nidhi searched long and hard for a DIY photography project she can attempt at home. Seconds, minutes (but not hours) passed. And then…she found it!

That got weird. Let’s cut to the chase.

It’s the holidays! I’m sick. But it’s the holidays!

Yes, I am that girl that starts listening to Christmas music in July. I know, I know. You think I’m “obsessed” but it’s honestly just a special love for Christmas. Still don’t believe me? #hatersgonnahate

The holidays are my favorite time of year. It’s such a fun, happy and sparkly time. I love shopping for a tree (no fake ones!), decorating the house, watching Christmas movies and eating everything within reach. In my book, the holidays are no time for dieting. There are too many goodies to be eaten. My birthday is even in December but I’m more excited about the wonderful holidays. Oops?

Unfortunately, I got sick but decided that I still wanted to go on an adventure. After looking on Pinterest, I found a project where you can play around with your shutter speed and lights to make for some very cool pictures. I’ve seen this done many times before but had never experimented on my own. This time, I decided to take on the challenge but with our Christmas lights and decorations!

^See if you can find the tree in these last two pictures from decorations outside!

I love that they’re enchantingly chaotic. It’s as if the lights have their own story to tell. They’re dancing and celebrating the holidays their own way. Being the dance lover that I am made me appreciate these pictures even more. These lights made their own sparkly stages, making any dull moment something celebratory and fun.

Does it remind you at all of Dumbledore’s quote?

Happiness can be found, even in the darkest of times, if only one remembers to turn on the light.

I can’t agree with that quote more. Having been in a dark funk at one point in my life, I had to find ways to turn on my light and I’m so glad I did.

I can now think of a thousand other unique pictures I can do with this new found technique but I’m still pretty happy with the results! Also, I couldn’t stop sneezing…I think I may need some tea.

(Photographs by Nidhi Singh)

4 thoughts on “Dancing Lights

Leave a Reply

