#23: Solo Birthday Adventures

What is this called again? My Jordan year?

That’s right, folks! I turned 23 last week and yes, I was singing 23 all. day. LONG.

XXL Magazine
via XXL Magazine

2014 has been quite the roller coaster year, especially with this never-ending job hunt. What I really wanted for my birthday was independence. I can’t say that I haven’t been independent thus far but with moving back home and trying to figure out the next step, independence does get lost once in a while.

A small example of being dependent on others: I didn’t get my license until this past year. Yes, I had to use a permit every time I entered a bar. But I honestly didn’t care about the funny looks. It’s not like I hadn’t been driving all this time; I just didn’t have a license and had to drive with others. I don’t think it’s weird to have to wait this long to get your license but I was definitely thirsty for independence in that aspect.

Every year on my birthday, my friends and family go above and beyond to make this day extra special for me, and I can’t thank them enough. But for year 23, I decided to rely on myself for a special day and go on a solo birthday adventure.

Ok, so maybe it doesn’t sound too exciting (and probably somewhat depressing) to spend my birthday alone but I honestly had a blast. It wasn’t depressing at all! I picked up my camera, got in my car and just drove. I ended up spending time at the NC Museum of Art and discovered a coffee+tea shop called Gather. As much as I love partying and dancing around with friends and family, I think I wanted to do something a little different this year to just reflect.

As a birthday gift, I was given a spa treatment to Lorena Luca from my best friends for some more relaxation. I’ve never had a massage before and being the ticklish person I am, this was a comical experience. I’ll be honest. I couldn’t stop giggling. Luckily, because my face was pressed down into the head of the massage bed, the masseuse couldn’t see a thing. But overall, it was a positive and relaxing experience.

I did come home and have a nice sushi dinner with family at Tasu and a birthday surprise with my closest friends. Which, by the way, there is still so much birthday cake…..Someone please help me eat it!

For me, being able to get in the car and make my own adventure was refreshing and a great way to start 2015 (my birthday is right before NYE so it’s basically celebrating the new year as well!). There’s nothing wrong with a little spontaneity and I intend on continuing my weekly adventures into 2015.

Leave a Reply

