Hello D.C.

How did I ring in the new year? With my best friends, cheap wine, Jude Law and mason jars. Sounds pretty ideal, doesn’t it?

And by Jude Law, I obviously mean by watching The Holiday until just before midnight. If you don’t like that movie, we cannot be friends.

Just kidding! (But really. How do you not love that movie?)

Personally, I couldn’t have asked for a better way to start 2015. What I thought would be another solo adventure for NYE instead evolved into a classic girls night.

Aside from watching The Holiday and sipping on wine throughout the night, my friends discovered the perfect way to begin the new year with a positive and interesting twist: Rememberlution jars. Instead of making resolutions for the year, we decorated mason jars to fill them with 2015’s memories, both good and bad. Toward the end of 2015, we’ll open the jars and read about our adventurous year. This way, there is no stress involved to make a resolution for the year.

You can decorate your jars with absolutely anything. Ours consisted of colorful ribbons, a number of stickers, glitter glue and pink twine. Mine may look a little childish but I’m very much ok with it.

(Lighting could have been tweaked below.)

Of course, I decided to take one of the wine corks from that evening and write that night’s memory to slip into the jar. The only down side? My jar reeks of wine.

However, the reason I postponed this blog post was due to the second memory I added into the jar…I moved to Washington D.C.! Another spontaneous move for another spontaneous adventure.

I recently moved to D.C. for a temporary position so, I guess I’m sort of employed. I have lived in D.C. previously but now I feel like a big kid doing doing big girl things. Although Raleigh still has some adventures for me to uncover, I’m excited for all of the new adventures I’m about to take on and add to my Rememberlution jar! It may start in D.C., but I’m curious to see where I will be when the year ends.

Leave a Reply

