Capturing a Calm DC Metro

Much like any other city, Washington D.C. is always on the move. Even when you think the city has calmed down, it’s safe to assume that work is still happening behind closed doors. And, if there is one thing I’ve noticed, everyone is always in a hurry, walking fast as if they’re on a mission to save or change the world…which is probably true.

Don’t get me wrong. This can be a good thing.

Every time I sit in a crowded metro, I always wonder who all of these people could be. Maybe they work for the White House. Run a restaurant, perhaps? Work for a global nonprofit? Student? You just never know. And I think that’s why I like DC so much. Everyone has a different story and they all tend to mesh together in the metros. Sometimes you never know who you could be standing or sitting next to.

Because DC metros connect and mix all of these mission-driven people, I decided to go on a Phhhoto adventure and capture what may or may not be the calmer part of their day waiting and sitting on the metro. Yup, you read right. Phhhoto. This time, instead of picking up my Canon, I picked up my phone and used the Phhhoto app.

If you don’t have this app, I suggest you download it now. I downloaded this app back in August and am always scrolling up and down to see the creative art people post. It’s a fun way of making your own moving pictures from your phone (or in simpler terms, creating gifs).

(Also, the Rosslyn station has the longest/highest/steepest escalator ever…and I have to use it every day.)

You may have noticed that I am a little behind on my Photo of the Week. Changes will be coming soon to the blog but if you have any personal photography that you would like to share, definitely let me know.

Leave a Reply

