Facelift.

It’s been some time. Life came in the way and I was unable to continue blogging. But now, Nazaaqat is back in full force and with a facelift.

I still plan on continuing my adventures but with a twist: photograph a self-assigned theme. This way, I can still open myself up to new ideas, trends, and experiences.

Let’s see what happens.

This week, I ventured out to Tangier Island to soak up the last bit of summer. What I found was a different way of life compared to what I’m used to. It didn’t feel like we were just a few hours outside of DC but instead in a far off distant land.

Population: 500

One cop. One dentist and one doctor who are flown in twice a week. Approximately 2 miles wide. Golf carts are used to travel around the island.

What I found most intriguing were the graves in everyone’s lawn. It’s a common practice throughout the States from what I’ve been told but it was definitely new to me. I unfortunately do not have any pictures of that.

Can I ever live on a small island like Tangier? Nope.

What continues to amaze me is how different life can be in just a matter of a few miles. It’s something I’ve always understood but to see it with my own eyes is something else. Thankful for the experience and all the delicious seafood.

 

Last few pictures were taken with an iPhone. Still working on those editing skills.

What’s in store for this week?

Leave a Reply

